Premiere: Listen: Tripwires Reveal New Single ‘Shimmer’

Posted 12 months ago

Taken from their forthcoming debut album 'Spacehopper', DIY has the UK premiere of the band's new single.

Premiere: Listen: Tripwires Reveal New Single ‘Shimmer’

The road to Tripwires' debut album seems to have been a fairly lengthy one, but now the release is finally on the horizon.

Set to showcase 'Spacehopper' next month through Frenchkiss Records, the band plan to tease us with one more single, and DIY is lucky enough to have the first listen to it.

Due for release later this month, the band have even gone so far as to give us a little extra info on the track in question: "'Shimmer' was one of the first songs we wrote on the album. I remember explicitly trying to write a song that sounded like the Beatles playing fuzz guitar. I don't think we got particularly close, but what came out was a nice noise-pop song for us, one that has ear-wormed our heads since we first started playing it.”

Have a listen to the song below.

Tripwires recorded their debut album 'Spacehopper' at the Rare Book Room studio in New York, with the man behind albums from Deerhunter and Animal Collective, Nicolas Verhnes. The tracklisting looks a little something like this:

1. Spacehopper
2. Plasticine
3. A Feedback Loop of Laughter
4. Shimmer
5. Love Me Sinister
6. Paint
7. Under A Gelatine Moon
8. Catherine I Feel Sick
9. Wisdom Teeth
10. Tinfoil Skin
11. Slo Mo

They've also got a handful of live shows planned in the lead up to their album release, including an appearance at this year's Great Escape.

03 Brooklyn Mixer, Liverpool
17 Great Escape festival, Brighton
22 Paradiso, Amsterdam